Sunday, February 8, 2015

Review: Sense and Sensibility

Title: Sense and Sensibility
Author: Jane Austen
Release date: first published in 1811!
Age group: Young adult
Pages: 403

Synopsis:
'The more I know of the world, the more am I convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love. I require so much!'

Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve, and when she falls in love with the dashing but unsuitable John Willoughby she ignores her sister Elinor's warning that her impulsive behaviour leaves her open to gossip and innuendo. Meanwhile Elinor, always sensitive to social convention, is struggling to conceal her own romantic disappointment, even from those closest to her. Through their parallel experience of love—and its threatened loss—the sisters learn that sense must mix with sensibility if they are to find personal happiness in a society where status and money govern the rules of love.

Expectations
I've never read a Jane Austen novel and I'm so curious and excited that I finally will read a book of her. The idea that this has been published in 1811 really intrigues and interests me.
It's just so amazing that I can read a story that has been written 200 years ago!


Review


So..were to begin..
This book is mind-blowing..

This is the first book I've read by Jane Austen. In the beginning I had to adjust to the old language but I got used to that fairly quickly. I love the way she describes a person or a situation and I like the kind of humor.

I feel like her writing goes deeper than just telling a story. The writing is so accurate that I can see some resemblance in life today. In the way we communicate with each other or cope with emotions. 

There were some slow parts in the book and the thing that irritated me were the countless invitations to each others houses.

After reading this, I get why this is a classic.I really get it. It's such a beautifully written story. Jane Austen was a genius. I feel like this book has opened my eyes for classics and makes me want to read more classics AND definitely more books by Jane Austen.
The relationship-problems she describes can somehow be translated to this time. She wrote this more than 200 years ago, and she gets me laughing but also really understanding the pain a character can go through. 

I think it's magnificent how Jane Austen describes this story. She really knows how to write down the feelings, even though I read this in the old-language of her days, it still feels like she understands how we can feel in 2015.

Here are some lovely quotes from Sense and Sensibility:

“The more I know of the world, the more I am convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love. I require so much!” 

“It isn't what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.” 


Rating



I loved it and I hope her other books are as lovely as this one! I wanted to give it 4,5 stars, but since I don't do half-star-rating, I'm giving Sense and Sensibility the full 5 stars!



If you have a suggestion on which Jane Austen book should I read next, please tell me in the comments below. 


7 comments:

  1. Lovely review! These books really do have a durability to them which is amazing. They can reach across centuries.

    As for next one, I'd go with Emma. It is witty, amusing and we all know that one person who is too much of a busybody for their own good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for the recommendation, Britt! I'm so excited to read more Jane Austen books :)

      Delete
  2. I think you nailed it. Austen was so ahead of her times. I read Pride and Prejudice years ago, and I'd definitely recomment it, especially since it's in the vein of Sense and Sensibility (they even have similar titles!),

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oops, "recommend" of course :).

      Delete
    2. Hi Roberta,
      Thanks for the compliment and the recommendation :) I definitely want to read Prida and Prejudice too!

      Delete
  3. I love Jane Austen!!! Great review. If you haven't read Pride and Prejudice, you definitely should! It rocks and the movie is great too :)

    Sofia @ SofiaLovesReading

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Sofia,
      I'm now watching the Sense and Sensibility movie with Hugh Grant and Kate Winslet and I'm loving it!
      Thanks for the recommendation :)

      Delete

Hi!
I love to get comments so please leave one!!!
Thanks :D

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...